Grading a VRC competition

I am relatively new to teaching Robotics and need some advice on how to grade things class. This is my first year teaching high school robotics and also being the coach of VRC teams. I used to teach middle school where we didn’t have the space for a team to practice. We had VEX GO kits, so I used the STEM labs for lessons in class. Before I taught Robotics, I taught Math, which of course has assignments every day and a very structured curriculum.

The program I’m at now is has been around for a while, so I have older students that really know what they are doing and don’t need much direction from me. So for my advanced kids, I’ve mostly just been leaving them to their work as they get ready for competitions. Our school hosts a tournament every year and I’m planning on having all my advanced students either participate as part of a team or help in some other way during the event. I’ve asked the students and apparently the last Robotics teacher graded them mostly on just participation. Since I am very unexperienced with grading or teaching this way, I was wondering if anyone had advice on how to grade for participation. If I just had a rubric of requirements for the tournament we’re hosting, that would be great. Thanks

2 Likes

Hi @Leo_Fogel! Great question :slight_smile: I’m also a former math teacher!

There are many answers to this question depending on what you want the outcome to be for your students, so let me break it down piece by piece.

V5 STEM Lab Rubrics

We have V5 rubrics intended to be used with our V5 STEM Labs. These rubrics include:

• Build rubric
  • Collaboration rubric
  • Engineering Notebook rubric (both individual and team assessments)
  • Programming rubric
  • Pseudocode rubric